The State Board of Regents met at Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, on Wednesday, May 31, 1978. Those present were:

	<u>May 31</u>
Members of State Board of Regents:	
Mrs. Petersen, President	All Sessions
Mr. Bailey	All Sessions
Mr. Barber	All Sessions
Mrs. Belin	All Sessions
Mr. Brownlee	All Sessions
Mr. Harris	All Sessions
Mr. Shaw	Absent
Mr. Slife	All Sessions
Mr. Wenstrand	All Sessions
Office of State Board of Regents: Executive Secretary Richey Director Barak Director Caldwell Ms. Bacon Miss Van Ryswyk, Secretary	All Sessions All Sessions All Sessions All Sessions All Sessions
Iowa State University:	
President Parks	All Sessions
Vice President Christensen	All Sessions
Vice President Hamilton	All Sessions
Vice President Moore	All Sessions
Assistant Vice President Madden	All Sessions

Seminar speakers in order of presentation were:

Dean Virgil Lagomarcino	College of Education
Dean Lee Kolmer	College of Agriculture
Dean Ruth Deacon	College of Home Economics
Dean David Boylan	College of Engineering
Dean Wallace Russell	College of Sciences & Humanities
Dean Philip Pearson	College of Veterinary Medicine
Dean Charles Donhowe	University Extension
Dean Warren Kuhn	University Library
Dean Daniel Zaffarano	Graduate College
•	

IOWA STATE UNIVERSITY

The following business pertaining to Iowa State University was transacted on May 31, 1978.

LONG-RANGE ACADEMIC PLANNING SEMINAR. The board convened at 8:30 a.m. on May 31, 1978, for the purpose of holding a seminar on long-range academic planning for Iowa State University.

ADJOURNMENT. The seminar adjourned at 5:30 p.m. on May 31, 1978.

Minutes pertaining to this seminar are on file in the Board Office.

The following business was conducted in regular session by the State Board of Regents during the Iowa State University seminar proceedings on May 31, 1978.

EXECUTIVE SESSION. President Petersen reported that there was a personnel matter pertaining to Iowa State University to be discussed in executive session.

On roll call vote as to whether to enter into executive session, the following voted:

AYE: Bailey, Barber, Belin, Brownlee, Harris, Slife, Wenstrand, Petersen.

NAY: None.

ABSENT: Shaw.

The board, having voted in the affirmative by at least a two-thirds majority, resolved to meet in executive session beginning at 5:30 p.m. and arose therefrom at 8:15 p.m.