AGENDA ITEM 6e AUGUST 5, 2010

**Contact: Diana Gonzalez** 

## STATEWIDE RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT SCHOOL ADVISORY COUNCIL MEMBERSHIP

<u>Action Requested</u>: Consider approval of the appointment of the ten proposed members to the Statewide Research and Development School Advisory Council.

**Executive Summary:** Senate File 470, §256G.4, specifies that a Statewide Research and Development School Advisory Council must be created to review and evaluate the educational processes and results of the School. The Council will provide an annual report to the UNI President, Department of Education Director, Board of Regents, and State Board of Education. "The Advisory Council will consist of 17 members, including the representation below. The ten appointed members must be approved by the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, and the State Board of Education. Each member shall serve three-year staggered terms and shall be eligible to serve for two consecutive three-year terms in addition to any partial term served."

- Three standing Advisory Council members
  - ➤ Director of the Iowa Department of Education
  - > President of the University of Northern Iowa
  - ➤ Director of the Research and Development School (ex-officio, non-voting member)
- Ten appointed members
  - > One member representing PK-6 public school teachers<sup>1</sup>
  - ➤ One member representing Grades 7-9 public school teachers¹
  - ➤ One member representing Grades 10-12 public school teachers¹
  - ➤ One member representing PK-12 administrators
  - One member representing area education agencies
  - One member representing Iowa State University
  - > One member representing the University of Iowa
  - ➤ One member representing parents of R&D School students
  - One member representing business and industry
  - ➤ One member representing Iowa private colleges
- Four members of the General Assembly (ex-officio, non-voting members)

## Background:

Senate File 470 addresses the transition of Malcolm Price Laboratory School into Iowa's PK-12 Statewide Research and Development (R&D) School. This will be a collaborative effort between the University of Northern Iowa, Iowa State University, University of Iowa, and Iowa Department of Education.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> One of the three teachers must be an active teacher in the Cedar Falls School District. All three teachers must participate on a Teacher Quality Committee.

## BOARD OF REGENTS STATE OF IOWA

The following purposes of the R&D School have been identified:

- ♦ Raise and sustain the level of all lowa PK-12 students' educational attainment and personal development.
- Enhance the preparation and professional competence of Iowa educators.
- Focus on research that transforms practice to meet lowa's changing educational needs.

The R&D School has four primary functions:

- Research study and test new innovative teaching and learning practices.
- Development determine effective pedagogical practices.
- Demonstration model effective teaching practices.
- ♦ Dissemination share effective instructional practices.

The second year of the transition will begin in Fall 2010. UNI's new Dean of Education, Dr. Dwight C. Watson, will begin working collaboratively with the Department of Education, ISU, SUI, private colleges, AEAs, public schools, and business partners on statewide strategic planning, and the start-up of the Advisory Council. During the coming year, UNI will also foster statewide processes for demonstrating and disseminating new research-based best practices. UNI anticipates that the school will be fully operational as a Statewide Research and Development School for the 2012-2013 academic year.

Attached is the list of Advisory Council members, including the ten proposed members for Board of Regents approval.

## 2010 STATEWIDE RESEARCH AND DEVELOPMENT SCHOOL ADVISORY COUNCIL

MEMBER	REPRESENTATION	TERM (Yrs)
	PROPOSED APPOINTED MEMBERS	(115)
(approved by the Board of Regents and the State Board of Education)		
Jim Young	4 <sup>th</sup> Grade Teacher, Hansen Elementary, Cedar Falls School District	1
Michelle Davis	Middle School Mathematics Teacher, Postville Community School District	2
Jodi Tupper	High School Special Education Teacher, North High School, Davenport School District	3
Aidday Phomvisay	Associate Principal, Valley High School, West Des Moines School District	1
Pam Barry	Director of Educational Services, Northwest Area Education Agency	2
David Whaley	ISU Associate Dean, Teacher Education, International Programs & IT, Professor, Dept. of Curriculum & Instruction	2
Susan Lagos-Lavenz	SUI Associate Dean, College of Education, Clinical Associate Professor	2
Jan McMahill	Dean, School of Education, Drake University	3
Robin Mebus	Parent of Malcolm Price Lab School student, Cedar Falls	3
Fred Buie	Business and Industry Representative, President, Keystone Electrical Manufacturing Company	2
	STANDING ADVISORY COUNCIL MEMBERS	
Kevin Fangman	Interim Director, Iowa Department of Education	
Ben Allen	President, University of Northern Iowa	
Lyn Countryman	Interim Director, Malcolm Price Laboratory School (ex-officio, non-voting member)	
	GENERAL ASSEMBLY REPRESENTATIVES (ex-officio, non-voting members)	
Bob Kressig	State Representative, District 19	
Chris Hagenow	State Representative, District 59	
Brian Schoenjahn	State Senator, District 12	
Paul McKinley	State Senator, District 36	