Contact: Tim Cook

PERSONNEL APPOINTMENTS

<u>Actions Requested</u>: Consider approval of the appointments as delineated below:

1. University of Iowa

- a. Reappointment: TERRY JOHNSON as Treasurer for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2017, in accordance with Iowa Code §262.9(2).
- b. Reappointment: SUSAN KLATT as Secretary for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2017, in accordance with Iowa Code §262.9(2).
- c. Appointment: DR. KITTY BUCKWALTER as Interim Dean for the College of Nursing effective June 3, 2017, at an annual salary of \$240,000.
- d. Appointment: DR. MELISSA SHIVERS as Vice President for Student Life effective June 30, 2017, at an annual salary of \$280,000.
- e. Appointment: DEBBY ZUMBACH as Associate Vice President and Director of Purchasing and Business Services effective June 1, 2017, at an annual salary of \$228,713.

2. IOWA STATE UNIVERSITY

- a. Reappointment: JOAN PISCITELLO as Treasurer for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2017, in accordance with Iowa Code §262.9(2).
- b. Reappointment: PAMELA ELLIOTT CAIN as Secretary, for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2017, in accordance with Iowa Code §262.9(2).

3. University of Northern Iowa

- a. Reappointment: KELLY FLEGE as Treasurer for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2017, in accordance with Iowa Code §262.9(2).
- b. Reappointment: TONYA GERBRACHT as Secretary for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2017, in accordance with Iowa Code §262.9(2).
- c. Appointment: DR. JOHN VALLENTINE as Associate Provost for Faculty at an annual salary of \$160,000, effective June 1, 2017.
- d. Appointment: DR. PATRICK PEASE as Interim Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Graduate College at an annual salary of \$160,000, effective July 1, 2017.

4. IOWA SCHOOL FOR THE DEAF

- a. Reappointment: MICHAEL MORGAN as Secretary and Treasurer for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2017, in accordance with Iowa Code §262.9(2).
- b. Reappointments: JOHN COOL as Level 1 child abuse investigator and DIANE KNIGGE as alternate for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2017, in accordance with Iowa Administrative Code 681 102.5(1).

5. IOWA BRAILLE AND SIGHT SAVING SCHOOL

- a. Reappointment: MICHAEL MORGAN as Secretary and Treasurer for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2017, in accordance with Iowa Code §262.9(2).
- Reappointments: JUSTIN RUEGG as Level 1 child abuse investigator and DIANE KNIGGE as alternate for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2017, in accordance with Iowa Administrative Code 681 – 102.5(1).

AGENDA ITEM 8g PAGE 2

<u>Background</u>: Iowa Code §262.9(2) requires that the Board appoint institutional secretaries and treasurers annually. Iowa Administrative Code 681—102.5(1) requires that the Board appoint Level 1 child abuse investigators and alternates at the two special schools annually.

Board of Regents Policy 2.1.C.ii requires approval by the Board of appointments of provosts, vice presidents, and directors of major units and comparable positions at the special schools. Other appointments are presented for the Board's information.

H:\HR\Docket 2017\June 2017\0617_ITEM08g Personnel Appointments