Contact: Andrea Anania

MINUTES OF DECEMBER 18, 2006 BOARD OF REGENTS, STATE OF IOWA

TELEPHONIC MEETING

HOST SITE: BOARD OF REGENTS OFFICE, 11260 AURORA, URBANDALE, IOWA

Board Members

Amir Arbisser, Mary Ellen Becker, Tom Bedell, Jenny Connolly, Robert Downer, Michael Gartner, Ruth Harkin, Rose Vasquez, Teresa Wahlert

Staff Members

Andrea Anania, Marcia Brunson, Pam Elliott Cain, Tom Evans, Diana Gonzalez, Joe Murphy, Joan Racki, Gary Steinke

Regent Institutions

University of Iowa, Iowa State University, University of Northern Iowa, Iowa School for the Deaf, Iowa Braille and Sight Saving School

Board of Regents' web site: www2.state.ia.us/regents.

President Gartner called the meeting to order at 5:02 p.m.

The Board discussed the makeup of the committee for the next search for the President of the University of Iowa. President Gartner reported that: (1) the Regents agree that the committee should be headed by a Dean and have fewer members than the first committee; (2) Heidrick and Struggles will continue as the consulting firm under the old contract; and (3) search committee members are anticipated to be chosen during the first week of January.

MOVED by DOWNER, SECONDED by ARBISSER, to nominate David C. Johnsen, Dean of the College of Dentistry, as Chair of the Search Committee for the University of Iowa President.

<u>Regent</u>	<u>Arbisser</u>	<u>Becker</u>	<u>Bedell</u>	<u>Connolly</u>	<u>Downer</u>	<u>Gartner</u>	<u>Harkin</u>	<u>Vasquez</u>	<u>Wahlert</u>
Aye	X	Χ	Χ	X	X	X	Χ	X	Χ
Nay									

MOTION APPROVED by ROLL CALL.

MOVED by DOWNER, SECONDED by HARKIN, to adjourn the meeting.

MOTION APPROVED UNANIMOUSLY.

The meeting adjourned at 5:25 p.m.